Making Things Interactive

May 1, 2008

Class Review

Filed under: Assignments,Final Writing Assignment,Jesse Chorng — Jesse @ 12:47 pm

Coming into the class, I definitely didn’t know what to expect. As a third year Tepper/H&SS student, I have only taken a small number of classes that didn’t compose of 200 students, numerous teaching assistants, and weekly recitations. The closeness of this particular group was refreshing and it was great getting to know everyone and their interests. It’s been especially helpful to have students actually remember my project and give feedback as well. Besides the skills and general knowledge I gained, I think that the group aspect of the course was the most meaningful.

Making Things Interactive was the first time that I experienced a course full of students from different backgrounds ready to help one another. That combined with the expertise of both Mark and Jet created an environment that I think has great potential to produce interesting and innovative work. If I could make a suggestion, it’d be that there were more small group projects or workshops. Even with Mark and Jet taking time outside of class, promoting students to help one another even more would have a lot of benefits. Many of us had very rudimentary questions that I think sometimes may actually be better solved by another student who was on a similar level and communicated in a shared vocabulary. The one or two times that I was able to speak face-to-face with another student about my project in class really gave me fresh perspectives about how to solve some issues or improve the project overall.

That being said, missing the final demo is one of my biggest regrets this semester. I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize to everyone for missing out.  I should’ve known better and understood that, like us, everyone spent countless hours working on their final projects. I, and I think I can speak for Paul too, greatly appreciate everyone who’s asked us about The Boomboxes anyway and continue to help us solve things out. It took missing that demo to really understand how great it is to be a part of a group like this. 

In the end, I think that for me the class experience outweighed the content. Obviously interactive technology will become ubiquitous if it hasn’t already in a matter of years, so working with the actual tools will only help all of us in our career paths. But again, I basically expected as much when I chose to take the course. What I didn’t expect and what I would like to pass on to other students outside of CFA is that MTI has a unique make up of technical knowledge, logic, artistic expression, etc to really challenge students to think outside the box and work collaboratively.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

