Making Things Interactive

March 25, 2008

vehicle-mounted light-aiming turret

Filed under: Final Project,Gaku Sato — ponkotsu @ 8:07 am

For the final project, I propose a light-chasing application similar to my midterm project (lightchaser).  This time, it will be an auto turret that aims at light.  A 360deg servo will be the base platform onto which the firing mechanism will be mounted.  There will be 4 light sensors affixed at 90degs facing outward.
turret2.pdf

My primary objective is to be able to shoot down various stationary targets from a fixed position (as drawn).  Once that is working accurately and fast enough, my secondary objective is to be able to shoot down moving targets.  Ultimately I will mount the turret on an RC car and shoot down target cars (also RC).If things go magically well, I want to make two of these turret cars which could play Tag by alternating being the light source.  It would alternate when the target car sensed that it had been hit, which I’m not sure how to do, nor do I know how to send that “hit” signal to the chaser car.  So for this I think I would need some type of wireless signal.  I don’t think this would be possible by the end of the semester, so I also had the idea of mounting the turret onto the lightchaser (will be changed to IR lightchaser), and that may be better not only for feasibility, but for entertainment purposes, since it is intended to be a toy.

From working on the lightchaser I know that photoresistor inputs are tricky (especially in calibration when comparing multiple sensor inputs) so I may use pairs of sensors.  Also, a small solenoid is an inadequate firing mechanism, so I will opt for a larger one or a different assembly altogether.

1 Comment »

  1. To make this a real project proposal, need a physical design (sketch / drawings / materials), electronics design (wiring schematic and parts list), and behavior description (flow chart or state machine).

    Comment by mdgross — March 25, 2008 @ 8:10 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

