Making Things Interactive

March 1, 2008

Using Legos = OK?

Filed under: Gaku Sato — ponkotsu @ 8:06 pm

I went to AB Charles today but they didn’t have the kind of stuff I was looking for either.  They had some high-end RC parts (car & plane) but no wiring components and no real prototyping platform which I need, having chosen a mechanical project.  I can harvest some tires and axles from a cheap RC but I’d really have to chop up the chassis for separate tire control with two motors, which I would need for maneuverability.

With that said, could I use Legos or is that cheating?  I’d still use the Arduino (not the NXT processor) and splice the I/O wires, but it would really make it simpler to prototype and modify for obvious reasons, not to mention cheaper.  So in order to expedite the prototyping process, I submit my request to use Legos.

I have my wiring logic mostly figured out so I’m going out tomorrow to buy parts.  I’m assuming Legos are OK so I’m planning on getting more Lego motors.  Please let me know if this is not cool!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

