Making Things Interactive

January 30, 2008

New* Automatic Door (*may be old)

Filed under: 1: Post Something Interesting,Gaku Sato — ponkotsu @ 2:21 am

<http://www.e-taf.co.jp/cgi-bin/e-taf/sitemaker.cgi?mode=page&page=page2&category=0>

I forget when or where I saw the video for this but I still think it’s an interesting idea.  It’s an automatic door that opens just enough for you to get through.  In words that sounds somewhat terrible but the pic does a better job at promoting itself.  Sorry the site’s all in Japanese: it says that by not allowing for any excess open space, this allows for better insulation and security of the building as well as help to keep bugs out.
I think this makes the building feel more alive.  Similarly, what if lights turned on and off depending on where you were?  What if the elevator knew where you were going, or knew that you were coming and came to get you?  What if my house made coffee for me since it’s 2AM but I’m still working on figuring out my project so I’m probably going to be up and need to be productive for a few more hours?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

